A Labour of Love: Hard work pays off for canfitpro’s 2021 Award Recipients

A Labour of Love: Hard work pays off for canfitpro’s 2021 Award Recipients

Celebrating canfitpro’s 2021 Award Recipients!

Every year I am always MO’tivated and inspired by the incredible stories and achievements of our canfitpro Award Winners. It is encouraging to see so many fitness professionals stepping up and choosing to pour themselves into their careers and re-invent, re-imagine, and re-define themselves. Every single one of these influential fitness professionals has a unique story to share and they inspire us as well as remind us that you need to put in the work and time and, pour your passion (love) into the purpose behind the work itself—this is what I mean by ‘labour of love’.

We need to not only witness others succeeding but also recognize their efforts and hard work, whether we know them personally or not.  Doing so elevates us all and MO’ves us to dream bigger, reach higher and have the courage to go after the goals that are most important to us.  Their success reaffirms that – if they can reach their goals and make their dreams happen – we can too!

Here is our opportunity to recognize the achievements of our outstanding 2021 canfitpro Award recipients and congratulate them on their commitment and contribution.

The Delegates Choice Presenter of the Year Awards is chosen by canfitpro based on the feedback from our delegates from the previous year. There are four award categories: New Presenter, Canadian Presenter, Speciality Presenter, and International Presenter.   Here are the 2021 canfitpro Delegates Choice Presenter of the Year Awards:

  • Kim Basler – New Presenter
  • Nathalie Plamondon-Thomas – Canadian Presenter
  • Samantha Montpetit-Huynh – Specialty Presenter
  • Dr. Len Kravitz – International Presenter

Photo credit: Dawn Bowman 


The Fitness Professional of the Year Award is the industry’s highest award given to a Fitness Professional who works activity in the industry as a certified Fitness Instructor Specialist (FIS) and Personal Training Specialist (PTS) and, one who holds an active certification and membership with canfitpro.  This award recognizes a FIS and PTS who has succeeded in creating their brand, building a network and or a business and helped to shape the industry through their influence and impact, online, in-person or both, a person who is a leader or mentor for others and is dedicated to professional development and community involvement.  All nominees are required to go through a detailed application process and are judged by a diverse group of leaders from within the fitness industry and canfitpro. This year canfitpro received a record number of applications for Fitness Professional of the Year (85) and the competition has never been closer. Congratulations to our Finalists:  Kathryn McKenzie (PTS), Trevor Pickett (PTS), Vyshnavi Sivakumaran (PTS), Jessica Takimoto (FIS), Sue Staresinic (FIS) and Suaad Ghadban (FIS).

CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR 2021 Fitness Professional of the Year

  • Vyshnavi Sivakumaran – canfitpro Fitness Professional of the Year (PTS)
  • Suaad Ghadban – canfitpro Fitness Professional of the Year (FIS)